Categories

Information

 

 

la Nouvelle Epicerie à Domicile (NED)) was developed to ensure that your personal information is kept private. We understand that using web site commerce can cause concerns. That's why we have gone to great lengths to protect your privacy.

Every purchase at NED is secure, and signing in is all it takes to get started. The security features are automatic. Once you've clicked the Sign-In button, your browser looks for a digital certificate to confirm that it is communicating with la Nouvelle Epicerie à Domicile (NED) Once a positive ID is made, your order continues. We use GeoTrust® True BusinessID software to enable the use of digital certificates. You can click on the GeoTrust®  logo to verify that la Nouvelle Epicerie à Domicile (NED) is a Geotrust secure site. For your security, the verification process happens in the background every time you place an order on our site.

Credit Card and Order Data

The Checkout and Confirmation areas of NED are secured using SSL encryption. This ensures that your credit card number and personal data are never sent over the Internet unencrypted. Once we receive your credit card information, it is immediately stored in its encrypted form securely in the NED data center.  Your credit card number is never displayed on our site -- only the last four digits will ever be shown.  Also your personal data (such as your address, e-mail and billing information) are stored in a secure server within the NED data center. Only those with proper authorization can view this data.

There are several ways to confirm that you're in a secure area. All SSL capable browsers have a symbol to indicate secure mode. This is usually a closed lock image    at the right of your browser's bottom status bar. You can also tell when you're in a secure area because the URL to the left of the colon changes from 'http' to 'https' to indicate that a SSL protocol is being used to communicate with the server. (http = HyperText Transport Protocol; https = HTTP with SSL.)
Please Note: some browsers give you a warning when you go from a secure area to a regular area.

Why Isn't My Browser Indicating "Locked"?

la Nouvelle Epicerie à Domicile (NED) transaction frames are fully SSL encrypted and all information is sent securely. SSL encryption ensures that transaction information is sent securely but has a significant performance tradeoff in the browser environment. You may have noticed that the NED site employs a framed metaphor for easier navigation and more efficient page updates. With this in mind, NED selectively places SSL encryption on only those forms and frames that need to be encrypted (ie. the checkout). Since things like our aisle / section selectors and menus don't need to be slowed down by SSL we do not employ it there.

You can verify that a frame is SSL encrypted by right-clicking within the frame and looking at the frame information or properties (ie. found in the "View" menu in Mozilla and the "File" menu in Internet Explorer). Doing this within NED checkout pages will indeed show that this information is being sent encrypted and thus any security concerns you may have should be relieved.

Why does this "warning" window come up during the ordering process, and what does it really mean?

This window can be startling and threatening. However, all it really means is that you are entering the safest, most secure area of our Web site. The intention is to ensure that people know when they have left a secure server.